Workshop on Teaching Computational Science 2015 (WTCS 2015)

in conjunction with

The International Conference on Computational Science 2015 (ICCS 2015)


Reykjavík, Iceland
June 1 - 3, 2015


The seventh Workshop on Teaching Computational Science (WTCS 2015) solicits submissions that describe innovations in teaching computational science in its various aspects (e.g. modeling and simulation, high-performance and large-data environments) at all levels and in all contexts. Typical topics include, but are not restricted to, innovations in the following areas:

    - course content,
    - curriculum structure,
    - methods of instruction,
    - methods of assessment,
    - tools to aid in teaching or learning,
    - evaluations of alternative approaches, and
    - non-academic training in computational sciences.

These innovations may be in the context of formal courses or self-directed learning; they may involve, for example, introductory programming, service courses, specialist undergraduate or postgraduate topics, industry-related short courses. We welcome submissions directed at issues of current and local importance, as well as topics of international interest. Such topics may include transition from school to university, articulation between vocational and university education, quality management in teaching, teaching people from other cultures, attracting and retaining female students, and flexible learning.

Topic of Submission, but not limited to


Dr. Valerie Maxville, iVEC, Perth, Australia (maxville@ivec.org)

Dr. Angela B. Shiflet, Wofford College, Spartanburg, South Carolina, U.S.A. (shifletab@wofford.edu)

Dr. Alfredo Tirado-Ramos, The University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio, TX, U.S.A. (tiradoramos@uthscsa.edu)

Important dates

Full paper due:  January 15, 2015, 11:59 EST

Acceptance notification: February 15, 2015

Camera-ready copy: March 15, 2015

Paper submission

The abstracts and manuscripts of up to 10 pages, written in English and formatted according to the EasyChair templates, should be submitted electronically. Templates are available for download in the Easychair right-hand-side menu in a “New submission” mode.  Papers must be based on unpublished original work and must be submitted to ICCS only.

Program Committee

Alex Bokov, The University of Texas Health Science Center, U.S.A.
Pawel Czarnul, Politechnika Gdanska, Poland
Bogumila Hnatkowska, Institute of Informatics, Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland
Hong Liu, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, U.S.A.
Holly Lanham, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, U.S.A.
Marcelo Lobosco, Universidade Federal de Juiz de Fora, Brazil
Valerie Maxville, iVEC, Australia
Robert Olsen, Stockton College, U.S.A.
Angela B. Shiflet, Wofford College, U.S.A.
Charles Swanson, University of Minnesota, U.S.A.
Alfredo Tirado-Ramos, The University of Texas Health Science Center, U.S.A.